BBQ Chicken Pinwheels

Have you ever tried feeding a 22 year old man with a huge appetite while simultaneously not gaining 50 lbs yourself? Did I mention that I also LOVE food? All things considered, it’s exhausting!

To handle point 1 and 3, I cook, a lot– I constantly experiment with new recipes in the kitchen. And to handle point 2? I run. Not as much as I’d like to, or as much as I should– but enough.  

My husband and I got married a little less than 4 months ago, and before that we dated for 5 years. I’m so excited to embark on married life, the last 4 months have been an amazing start. And I’m excited to embark on it with all of you– filled with food & running & figuring out how to adult & beauty, etc. And let’s be realistic, my life does not look like Pinterest, even though I want it to.

I don’t know what brought you to my blog, but I’m so glad it did.

As promised, here is my interpretation of BBQ Chicken Pinwheels:

The recipe I used said it served 3-4, but lets be realistic, it served 2.
Ingredients:


1 batch pizza dough (I use Pillsbury)

1/2 cup barbecue sauce

1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

1/2 cup cooked chicken, shredded or diced (this was about 1 medium sized chicken breast)– I diced mine real small and cooked it on the stove with salt, pepper and onion powder. 

{Note: My husband and I can both be picky at times, feel free to add any extras to this recipe– onions, peppers, more cheese, cilantro, etc. You can make any pizza you want into pinwheels!}

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Roll dough out and spread BBQ sauce evenly over the dough, and top with your ingredients of choice!

Now comes the fun part! Carefully roll it lengthwise and then slice 3/4″ wide rolls. Then place them on a baking sheet that you’ve sprayed with cooking spray {the recipe I followed said to place it on parchment paper and it stuck like crazy: NOT FUN.} 

You want to bake these until they’re golden and yummy- like pizza. For our oven this was about 20 minutes. {Our top little one was the end bit, mostly dough, still delicious}

Then they’re done, it was seriously that easy. Serve them up with some extra BBQ sauce to dip!

Whether you came here on purpose or just happened to click on this link, I hope you’ll come back! 🙂

Adapted from Rachel Schultz

One thought on “BBQ Chicken Pinwheels

Leave a Reply

