Chicken Parmesan Penne 

Confession time: I love pasta. If I didn’t know I was German, I would swear that I was Italian. My husband however is more of a meat-head than a carb lover- so unfortunately I try and keep the pasta dishes to once a week (sometimes twice). Also apparently eating carbs 24/7 isn’t good for me– but I prefer to ignore people that remind me of that. This blog my friends is a carb loving, judgment free zone.
Ingredients:

12 oz penne

2 cups shredded chicken (about 2 small chicken breasts)– when I shred chicken I go the easy route by putting chicken in a pot, covering with water and boiling for 7-10 minutes until chicken is no longer pink inside, and then shred it with two forks [full disclosure: I usually make the hubby do the shredding]. However, I don’t like the way it tastes/feels after that because boiled chicken is GROSS. So I usually saute it with salt, pepper, and onion powder just briefly to give the chicken a little bit of a crisp… Okay, rant over 🙂

1 25 oz jar of Tomato basil sauce

1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

1/3 cup parmesan cheese

1/4 cup fresh basil leaves (unfortunately my grocery store decided to be out of basil, so I didn’t have any, but it would have been a nice addition if I did have it.)
How to:

First, preheat your oven to 375 degrees F 

Then you want to cook your penne per package instructions.

When the penne is done, drain it, put it back in the pot and mix in the shredded chicken & tomato sauce.

Grease a 9 x13 pan, layer 1/2 the pasta mixture, 1 cup of the mozzarella and 1/2 the parmesan cheese. Then add the rest of the pasta mixture and the rest of the mozzarella cheese.

Bake for 20 minutes, remove and add the rest of the parmesan cheese & the basil.

Serve and ENJOY. Seriously, enjoy it, because it’s GOOD. Even my cat wanted some 🙂


Adapted from GimmeSomeOven

Leave a Reply

